Posted by Kim

“Rescue me, Chin Boy, and show me the stars!”  — Oswin Oswald, “Asylum of the Daleks”

“But every night, Doctor. When it gets dark, and the stars come out, I’ll look up on her behalf. I’ll look up at the sky. And think of you.” — Wilfred Mott, “Journey’s End”

“It’s all waiting out there, Jackie. And it’s brand new to me. All those planets, creatures and horizons—I haven’t seen them yet. Not with these eyes. And it is gonna be… fantastic.”  –The Tenth Doctor, “The Christmas Invasion”

Yeah, yeah, I know that neither one of these quotes were said by our heroine, Rose Tyler.  But I DO think that these quotes demonstrate one of the greatest appeals of traveling with The Doctor for the companion…seeing the stars!  It’s why Rose ran away with The Doctor in the first place…she knew she wanted to see something MORE than what she had going on in her current life.  Heck, it’s why we all watch the show.  It’s why I went to Space Camp THREE TIMES (#nerdalert).  We ALL want to run away with The Doctor and see all of time and space.  It’s why we’re on constant alert for that TARDIS sound.

Needless to say, there are a LOT of songs about the stars out there, and there are quite a few on our epic playlist.  Let’s take a look at some, shall we?

“Oh My Stars” – Andrew Belle

“Tell me all about your foreign wars
And all about the photographs that line your drawers
Cause i know a lot about closing doors
But not enough about what opens up yours

Oh my my
Oh my stars
Everything you see is ours
Or it could be if you would try
 I wish you would
 I wish you might
Oh oh
If everything you’ve said to me has been true
Then all my stars are leading me to you…”

This song SCREAMS Rose and Nine to me (and YES, I realize we talk a LOT about Nine here.  Because he is awesome.  Perhaps we should just rename these posts Rose and the Doctor feels?).  “Oh My Stars” conjures up images of when Rose first started traveling with The Doctor, when he was all prickly and brooding.  And (oh so gently) Rose would push him to start to FEEL again.  Conversations like this one from “The End of the World” would happen:

The Doctor: You think it’ll last forever. People and cars and concrete. But it won’t. One day it’s all gone. Even the sky. My planet’s gone. It’s dead. It burned like the Earth. It’s just rocks and dust. Before its time.
Rose: What happened?
The Doctor: There was a war and we lost.
Rose: A war with who? What about your people?
The Doctor: I’m a Time Lord. I’m the last of the Time Lords. They’re all gone. I’m the only survivor. I’m left traveling on my own because there’s no one else.
Rose: There’s me.

And thus Rose Tyler, a completely ordinary girl from London, began to melt the heart of a 900 year old Time Lord and heal his battered soul.

“When the Stars Go Blue” – Tim McGraw

“Where do you go when you’re lonely?
Where do you go when you’re blue?
Where do you go when you’re lonely?
I’ll follow you
When the stars go blue.”

I like to think that during their downtime in the TARDIS that Rose and the Doctor would slow dance.  That’s what this song makes me think of.  Just let me have that, okay?

I like to imagine they are kissing in this picture. #notsorry

“Cosmic Love” – Florence and the Machine

“I took the stars from my eyes, and then I made a map
And knew that somehow I could find my way back
Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too
So I stayed in the darkness with you

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart.”

Basically this is Bad Wolf.  Yep. The moment Rose became a true BAMF, willing to give her life to save the Time Lord she loves so.  And in turn, he gives his life to save her.

Is there a more epic love story?  I think not.

Rose: I am the Bad Wolf. I create myself. I take the words, I scatter them in time and space. A message to lead myself here.
The Doctor: Rose, you’ve got to stop this! You’ve got to stop this now! You’ve got the entire vortex running through your head. You’re going to burn.
Rose: I want you safe, my doctor. Protected from the false god.
Dalek Emperor: You can not hurt me. I am immortal.
Rose: You are tiny. I can see the whole of time and space. Every single atom of your existence. And I divide them. Everything must come to death. All things. Everything dies. The Time War ends.

Best First Kiss Ever.

“Yellow” – Coldplay

Look at the stars,
Look how they shine for you,
And everything you do,
Yeah, they were all yellow.
I came along,
I wrote a song for you,
And all the things you do,
And it was called “Yellow”.

Photobucket

I saw this post on Tumblr not long ago, and it sums it up better than I ever could:

“I just adore that the costume department made Rose all pink and yellow for this scene: the hat and the hoodie and the hair cascading over her shoulders. Because this is fresh-faced Rose, innocent and full of promise. The girl who saved him, who pulled him from the fire of his own self-destruction. And Rose grew into a spectacular woman who walked between universes to find him, wearing a TARDIS blue leather jacket like a shield until she was in his arms again. But this girl in front of him right now in the courtyard of the Powell estate; this is the girl whose hand trembled in his as she watched her world burn from Satellite Five. This is the girl who grinned at him and said in exhilaration ”I’ll tell you what though – WEREWOLVES”. Before all the things she went through without him in order to find him again…this is his pink and yellow Rose. Her beginning at his end.” (credit: gallifreyburning)

Ugh.  Ugh ugh ugh.

Photobucket

“Stars” – Grace Potter and the Nocturnals

“All those times we looked up at the sky,
Looking out so far,
We felt like we could fly.
And now I’m all alone in the dark of night,
The moon is shining,
But I can’t see the light,
And I can’t look at the

Stars,
They make me wonder where you are
Stars,
Up on heaven’s boulevard
And if I know you at all,
I know you’ve gone too far
So I, I can’t look at the stars.”

This song was suggested to us by one of our lovely readers, and Sage and I basically went fetal upon hearing it for the first time.   This song is SO beautiful and so painful and SO POST DOOMSDAY ROSE.  We don’t know too much detail about what happens to Rose during the time that Ten leaves her at Bad Wolf Bay and the time we see her in “Partners in Crime”.  We know she goes to work for Torchwood, and is always trying to find away to get back to the Doctor, but other than that…not much.  So I can imagine her, in that parallel universe, while wanting to search the skies for the Doctor, being unable to.  Because it just hurt too damn much.  If there was one thing Rose always worried about, it was The Doctor being alone.  She knew what he was capable of becoming if he traveled alone for too long.  Looking for him in the stars would just be a reminder of not only their love and their adventures together…but of the darkness she knows is there inside him.  No wonder she wanted to get back to him so desperately.

(Oh what she would have thought of Ten in “The Waters of Mars”! He was basically her fears come true!)

Photobucket

That’s it for this week.  Next week’s playlist post (to be done by Sage) is a reader request!  Until then…share all your Doctor Who feels with us!