Posted by Kim

Even though I was born in Michigan, I grew up in Nashville, so country music is practically ingrained into my DNA.  I LOVE country music, and I get very annoyed when anyone says they hate it.  In fact, I am convinced that anyone that says they hate country music has never really given it a chance.  Sure there are some TERRIBLE songs (“Red Solo Cup” is the most recent big hit that comes to mind), but that’s true of any genre (“Gangnam Style” anyone?).  To me, what sets Country Music apart as a genre is its focus on story telling.  Not that a good pop song can’t tell a story (we’ve got hundreds on this playlist that do) but country songs often take it to the next level and can make you feel all sorts of emotions.   Naturally, there are many country songs on this playlist that conjure up Doctor Who feelings.  So those who claim to HATE country should give these songs a listen and then get back to me.

And if you get back to me and say you still hate country music, I can’t help you.  And I also question whether or not you have a soul.

“Somebody Like You” – Keith Urban

“There’s a new wind blowing like I’ve never known.
I’m breathing deeper than I’ve ever done.
And it sure feels good to finally feel the way I do.
I wanna love somebody, love somebody like you.

And I’m letting go of all my lonely yesterdays.
I’ve forgivin’ myself for the mistakes I’ve made.
Now there’s just one thing, the only thing I wanna do.
I wanna love somebody, love somebody like you…”

This song screams the Ninth Doctor at the end of “End of the World”, which I also covered in my last playlist post.  While the Doctor still has many many gruff moments post “End of the World” (which IS only the second episode of the series), I always pinpoint the end of that episode as the moment where The Doctor started to heal and began to open himself up to Rose.  He doesn’t completely change all at once, there would be no fun in that.  It’s an ongoing process.   But in that moment where he and Rose head off to get some chips, The Doctor begins to let go of his past and relax and allows himself to think that there could be something more for him.

Rose and NIne walking

“Come on then, tightwad. Chips are on me. We’ve only got five billion years ’til the shops close. “

“I Run To You” – Lady Antebellum

“We run on fumes
Your life and mine
Like the sands of time
Slippin’ right on through
And our love’s the only truth
That’s why I run to you.

This world keeps spinning faster
Into a new disaster so I run to you
I run to you baby
And when it all starts coming undone
Baby you’re the only one I run to
I run to you.”

This song is about partnership and finding that one person you can count on above anyone else.  If that is not what you think the Doctor and Rose are to each other, then you are watching the show wrong.  Fact.

Rose and Nine laugh

“Free/Into the Mystic” – Zac Brown Band

“So we live out of our old van
Travel all across this land
Me and you

We’ll end up hand in hand
Somewhere down on the sand
Just Me and you

Just as free
Free as we’ll ever be”

Take out the words “old van” and put in the word “TARDIS” and you have a song about Ten and Rose.  I know I’ve said it before, but I love to think about the times Ten and Rose had together that we didn’t see.  And not just THOSE moments, you perverts.  Get your minds out of the gutter.  Or don’t.  This is a judgement free zone.

This is why we have fanfic.

Anyway, “Free” makes me think of Rose and Ten just relaxing together, much like the beginning of “New Earth” before all the shenanigans began.  I like to think they went to all sorts of planets and all sorts of time periods together and didn’t need to save the world or fight monsters all the time.  I like to think that they just went places and walked around and held hands and laughed like any normal couple would.

Or as normal as a 900 year old Time Lord and a 19/20-year-old shop girl couple can be.  But that’s just arguing technicalities.

I love how ZBB flawlessly integrates “Into the Mystic” into this arrangement as it is another very Doctor Who song.

“And when that fog horn blows I will be coming home
And when the fog horn blows I want to hear it
I don’t have to fear it

And I want to rock your gypsy soul
Just like way back in the days of old
And magnificently we will flow into the mystic”

“So… all of time and space, everything that ever happened or ever will – where do you want to start?”

“Oklahoma Sky” – Miranda Lambert

“How long has it taken to me to find you?
Five hundred years, five hundred thousand miles.
It don’t matter now.
Love’s always always on time.”

Once you find that person who is your soul mate, it really doesn’t matter how long it took you to find them does it?  Cause when you DO find them, everything it took for you to get there becomes worth it.   I think The Doctor was looking for Rose Tyler for a long time.  He just didn’t realize it until he found her.

Also, David Tennant, your face is unacceptable sir.

Rose and Tenth Doctor Christmas Invasion

“A Bad Goodbye” – Clint Black and Wynonna Judd

“I don’t know where we’ll go from here,
There may be no way to fly.
And the cloud I’m in just makes it all too clear
That I can’t leave you
With a bad goodbye.

Goodbye, easier said than done.
Goodbye, there’s no good when you’re the one
Whose goodbye you swore would never come.”

So this song is basically a musical version of this:

“There’s one tiny little gap in the universe left, just about to close. And it takes a lot of power to send this projection. I’m in orbit around a supernova.   I’m burning up a sun just to say good-bye.”

Burning up a Sun gif

Of course this did turn out to be the WORST GOODBYE EVER, but the Doctor’s original intentions were good.  He couldn’t bear the thought of not saying a proper goodbye to his love after she got stranded in a parallel world.  So he searched the universe until he found the last gap between the worlds and destroyed a sun just to say goodbye to her.  If you look up “Epic Love” in the encyclopedia (please tell me you said that like Ted Mosby) (and yes of course there is an entry called epic love in the encyclopedia) you would find a picture of Rose Tyler and The Doctor.  End of Story.

This is the story of how an episode of Doctor Who gave its entire fandom PTSD.  I have only watched this episode in its entirety once, and I dread the day I have to watch it again, cause I am planning a series rewatch.  Of course, this time I will be prepared with an abundance of alcohol to numb the pain.   Because I didn’t have any the first time, and that was quite possibly one of the biggest mistakes I have ever made.

 photo sedateme.gif